News From Terre Haute, Indiana

September 12, 2010

Stanbrough retakes lead to win Hurtubise Classic at Action Track

David Hughes
The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — Although Jon Stanbrough started from the pole, he didn’t stay in front the whole race.

But he returned to the lead in time to win the “First Financial Bank Jim Hurtubise Classic Presented by Dorsett Mitsubishi” 30-lap feature Saturday night at the Terre Haute Action Track.

The 42-year-old Avon driver outdueled veteran Dave Darland, leading the final five laps, to take the checkered flag and claim the $5,000 first prize in the U.S. Auto Club Amsoil Sprint Car Series-sanctioned event.

“It was great fun,” Stanbrough told the Tribune-Star afterward. “There’s probably nobody else I’d rather race next to [than Darland].”

Darland finished second. Rounding out the top five were Hunter Schuerenberg, Bryan Clauson and fastest-qualifier Robert Ballou respectively. Blake Fitzpatrick of West Terre Haute ended up 22nd after his car stopped on the back straightaway of the ninth lap.

The next Action Track card will be the Sumar Classic, featuring USAC Silver Crown cars, on Oct. 9.

Complete Hurtubise Classic results will appear on the Tribune-Star Web site at and in Monday’s sports section.

Jim Hurtubise Classic

Saturday night at Terre Haute Action Track

Feature (30 laps)
— Jon Stanbrough, Dave Darland, Hunter Schuerenberg, Bryan Clauson, Robert Ballou, Jerry Coons Jr., Shane Cottle, Levi Jones, Jonathan Hendrick, Tracy Hines.

J.J. Hughes, Chase Stockon, Bill Rose, Jon Sciscoe, Justin Grant, Chris Windom, Casey Riggs, Henry Clarke, Caleb Armstrong, Kurt Gross.

Ty Deckard, Blake Fitzpatrick, Damion Gardner. NT.

Semi-feature (12 laps) — Ballou, Cottle, Armstrong, Gross, Grant, Rose, Riggs, Shawn Krockenberger, J.C. Bland, Brandon Mattox, Kyle Robbins, Korey Weyant, Steve Thomas, Eric Krockenberger. NT.

First heat (eight laps) — Jones, Hines, Clarke, Deckard, Ballou, Cottle, S.Krockenberger, E.Krockenberger.2:41.61.

Second heat (eight laps) — Stanbrough, Hughes, Windom, Clauson, Gross, Rose, Robbins, Weyant. 2:43.49.

Third heat (eight laps) — Fitzpatrick, Hendrick, Sciscoe, Gardner, Riggs, Armstrong, Mattox. 2:43.72.

Fourth heat (eight laps) — Stockon, Darland, Coons, Schuerenberg, Grant, Bland, Thomas. 2:46.73.

Qualifying — Ballou 19.638, Clauson 19.817, Fitzpatrick 19.861, Schuerenberg 19.897, Cottle 19.978, Gross 19.999, Armstrong 20.027, Darland 20.064, Clarke 20.073, Stanbrough 20.076.

Gardner 20.106, Coons 20.192, Hines 20.283, Windom 20.304, Hendrick 20.327, Grant 20.344, Jones 20.348, Hughes 20.502, Riggs 20.400, Stockon 20.481.

Deckard 20.502, Rose 20.583, Sciscoe 20.645, Bland 20.668, S.Krockenberger 20.817, Robbins 20.941, Mattox 21.160, Thomas 21.532, E.Krockenberger 21.983, Weyant 22.028.

Feature lap leaders — Clarke 1-9, Darland 10-25, Stanbrough 26-30.

USAC Amsoil National Sprint Car standings (top 10) — Jones 1,828, Clauson 1,740, Gardner 1,707, Coons 1,588, Hines 1,546, Windom 1,489, Clarke 1,212, Darland 1,168, Shane Hmiel 1,059, Stanbrough 909.