News From Terre Haute, Indiana

July 1, 2010

Justin Wilson looks to repeat as IndyCar hits the road at Watkins Glen

Tom Reck
Tribune-Star Correspondent

TERRE HAUTE — Justin Wilson goes for a repeat in IZOD IndyCar Series action Sunday at Watkins Glen.

The 31-year-old driver from England goes for his second straight victory in the Camping World Grand Prix that will be telecast by ABC, starting at 3:30 p.m.

Wilson gave Dale Coyne Racing its first IndyCar Series victory with his 2009 victory. He’s driving for Dreiyer and Reinbold Racing this year and his teammate will be Paul Tracy, subbing for Mike Conway as he recuperates from injuries incurred in the Indianapolis 500.

Wilson said last year was a “perfect day for me” as he won his second race in the series.

“It was just a great day to go out there and be quick,” he recalled this week. He said the only negative was that his team could only get 19 gallons of fuel in the car on every pit stop.

“We were saving fuel like crazy until we finally got a yellow with 10 laps to go. That allowed us to save enough fuel to go flat out at the end and pull away from Ryan Briscoe,” he said.

Wilson’s margin of victory was four seconds over Briscoe, the pole-sitter.

“I think it is one of the great tracks in the world. I am going to say that since I won there last year but it is just a great, fun track,” says Wilson, who turns 32 on July 31.

Going into the holiday race, Will Power has an 11-point lead over Scott Dixon in the championship point totals and five other drivers are within 50 points. The Team Penske driver also leads teammate Helio Castroneves by 42 points in the road point standings.

Dixon is the leader by four points over Ganassi Racing teammate Dario Franchitti in the oval point totals and hopes to regain his winning ways at Watkins Glen.

Dixon won the first three IndyCar Series events at the course and was back on the podium a year ago.

Team Penske drivers have earned the pole for every race at Watkins Glen. Castroneves has been first in three races and Briscoe has been the pole-sitter the last two years.

Marco Andretti has run well at the course with three consecutive top-five finishes.

Bertrand Baquette, Adam Carroll, Simona De Silvestro, Alex Lloyd, Mario Romancini and Takuma Sato all will be running for the first time at the track.

Carroll is making his season debut in the Andretti Autosport No. 27 car.

Tony Kanaan was the winner of the last race in the series at Iowa, becoming the seventh winner in eight races.

Next up on the schedule is a street race in Toronto on July 18.