News From Terre Haute, Indiana

July 18, 2012

Jones occupies driver’s seat: Six-time THAT winner leads Sprint Week series

Tribune-Star staff report

TERRE HAUTE — When you think of USAC’s Indiana Sprint Week, thoughts of Levi Jones shouldn’t be far behind.

Jones is a three-time winner of the popular Indiana Sprint Week series, which began in 1988. As Sprint Week pays its visit to the Terre Haute Action Track tonight for the Don Smith Classic, Jones is in the catbird seat once again.

After he finished third at Kokomo on Monday, Jones leads Bryan Clauson by 14 points in the Indiana Sprint Week standings with four races to go. Dave Darland — another three-time Sprint Week champion —  is 18 points behind in third place.

Jones, of Olney, Ill., is a six-time winner at the Terre Haute Action Track. Jones also leads the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint car standings.

Bud Kaeding won the USAC Tony Hulman Classic at the Action Track in April. Chris Windom, the defending Sprint Week champion, won both USAC races at the Action Track in 2011, including a victory that helped propel him to the title.

At least five other former Action Track winners could be in tonight’s field. Jon Stanbrough, Jerry Coons Jr., Darren Hagen, Bobby East and Tracy Hines have also won feature races on the dirt oval.

It will be the 228th appearance made by USAC sprint cars at the half-mile Action Track. Rich Vogler still holds the circuit record with 13 victories. Jack Hewitt has 11.

Tickets are $30 for a pit pass, $25 for general admission and $15 for the infield. Grandstands open at 4 p.m. Hot laps begin at 6 p.m., qualifying commences at 6:30 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m.

• Darland posts win — At Kokomo, Darland was the feature winner in Indiana Sprint Week action Monday at Kokomo Speedway.

Darland led the final five turns to win the 30-lap main with Clauson second and Levi Jones third.

Clauson led four laps while Jon Stanbrough was in front for 20 laps and finished 17th.

Chase Stockon won his heat and placed seventh in the feature. He is seventh in the ISW totals heading into Wednesday's race in Terre Haute.

Levi Jones is first in the ISW point totals and in the U. S. Auto Club sprint totals.

Monday's results

Fast qualifier — Tracy Hines

Heat winners — Bryan Clauson, Chase Stockon, Chris Windom, Casey Shuman, Hines (semi)

Feature — Dave Darland, Clauson, Levi Jones, Hunter Schuerenberg, Darren Hagen, Shuman, Stockon, Jerry Coons Jr., Kevin Thomas Jr., Bobby East, Matt Mitchell, Robert Ballou, Damion Gardner, Windom, Scotty Weir.

Indiana Sprint Week standings

(after three events)

• Levi Jones        169

• Bryan Clauson        155

• Dave Darland        151

• Hunter Schuerenberg    145

• Damion Gardner    140

• Jon Stanbrough    135

• Chase Stockon        128

• Jerry Coons Jr.        119

• Bobby East        112

• Tracy Hines        98