News From Terre Haute, Indiana

April 22, 2012

MSCS opens its season at Action Track tonight

The Tribune-Star

TERRE HAUTE — The Hoosier Tire Midwest Sprint Car Series will go into action today at the Terre Haute Action Track.

The race will offer drivers the opportunity to capture MSCS points as well as King of Indiana Sprint Series (KISS) points. The two organizations will combine forces to open their respective seasons.

This opportunity, combined with a purse that pays $2,500 to win and $250 to start, should attract the presence of the best of the non-wing sprint car drivers.

The feature for the “Spring Fling” will be 25 laps. The last time the MSCS Sprints competed at Terre Haute was in the spring of 2010.

Jon Stanbrough, going for his record 13th win at the Action Track, took that feature. Over its 11 previous seasons the series has raced at the half-mile oval 14 times.  Stanbrough and Bud Kaeding have three MSCS wins each to lead a group of 10 drivers who hold MSCS victories there.

Stanbrough also leads in overall MSCS career victories with 18 wins at the various tracks MSCS has frequented.

The UMP Modifieds will be making the first of seven appearances at the Terre Haute power plant. On Sunday, the UMP Modifieds vie for a $700 to win, $100 to start purse. Engines will fire at 5 p.m.  The MSCS/KISS Sprints will be sharing the card with the UMP Open Wheel Modifieds. The heat races are expected to begin at 6 p.m. after hot laps are completed.  The promoters elected to start with a twilight program in order to expedite the show since it is on a Sunday evening.

Series records indicate that MSCS and KISS have shared the race card at Terre Haute in the past. The last occurrence was in 2005 with Levi Jones earning the victory. KISS and MSCS will meet once again this season with a second date at Tri-State Speedway on May 27, a Sunday of Memorial Day Weekend.

As in prior MSCS/KISS combined events, race organizers will use the KISS format for establishing lineups and making the show. Officials will follow MSCS rules as they apply in conducting the actual racing. The spec tire on the right rear will be the Hoosier HT-2 or DT-3.

The defending MSCS champion is Brady Short of Bedford. The defending KISS champion is Dave Darland of Walton. Short won the KISS title in 2009.

The Terre Haute Action Track is located within the Vigo County Fairgrounds on U.S. 41 less than a mile south of I-70.

The track is promoted as Terre Haute Motorsports by Bob Sargent and Reece O’Connor.

The grandstands will open at 4 p.m. and the pit gate will swing open at 2 p.m. EDT. For more information, visit us online at or call (812) 232-4040.