News From Terre Haute, Indiana

March 25, 2009

Amey Takes Aim: Familiar Valley names highlight girls Amey Awards

The Amey Awards for girls high school basketball this year will include a lot of familiar names, because a lot of great players have reached the ends of the high school careers.

And while I was fortunate enough to see a lot of teams play this year, there were a few that I didn’t experience. One team that won’t be represented at all, because it was so young this season that I’ve probably seen just one or two of its players, is Sullivan. I’ll make it a point, for a couple of reasons, to check out the Golden Arrows next winter. Otherwise, here we go.

The Clutch Team has as its captains two college-bound players who led their teams to various levels of success the past four years — Meghan Doss of Turkey Run, who was hinted about a few weeks ago in this space, and Dragana Grbic of Terre Haute South, named the Wabash Valley Player of the Year earlier this week.

Their teammates include Katie Brown of North Central; Marki Collins and Casey Fougerousse of Shakamak; Stephanie Fougerousse of White River Valley; Chelsea Francis and Chelsea Newnum of Turkey Run; Siera Fuller of Bloomfield; Hillary Lively of North Vermillion; Sarah Maggert and Erin Waggoner of Paris; Savannah Mason of Linton; Kieran McMullen of Rockville; Allie Milam of South Vermillion; Makaylee Pirtle of Union; Spring Raines of Northview; and Keisha Sweitzer of Marshall.

Familar names lead the Competitors Team too: how can you go wrong with Kelly Meggs of Terre Haute North and Krista Smith of South.

Other battlers include Kelsey Anderson, Danielle Gardner, Ashley Hamilton and Taylor Kail of White River Valley; Derryn Axtell and Emily Yoho of North Vermillion; Jocelynn Boyll and Laura Woodsmall of North Central; Izzy Carpenter of Linton; Shelby Colson and Emily Phillips of Northview; Brielle Drelick, Kelly McCullough and Sloan Miller of Clay City; Adrianne Francis of Turkey Run; Jill Frisz and Mattie Milbourn of Paris; Jade Gambill of Shakamak; Heather and Nickole Gonser of Owen Valley; Lindsey Greene and Beth Mahurin of Rockville; Makenzie Haltom of Riverton Parke; Lindy Jones and Francesca McCarthy of North; Bailey Lycan of Marshall; Brittany Marrs, Marianne Umphries and Brooklyn Waters of West Vigo; Mikayla Metheny and Lizzy Vollrath of South; Cassie Parr of Union; and Elyse Weddle of Bloomfield.

Three of my favorite captains lead the Unsung Team. One of them, Megan Gambill of Union, is in this role as the best player on a team with a great scorer, while the other two — Shelby Davies of Turkey Run and Stormi Raines of Northview — probably sacrificed some offense for gritty defensive play.

Others who need more recognition are Claire Bailey and Tessa Johnson of South; Karen Beal, Brittany Edmondson and Sarah Klotz of West Vigo; Jalen Brower of South Vermillion; Hannah Byers and Whitney Mathas of Riverton Parke; Sam Cooper, Adrian Gillaspy and Kaitlin Sweatman of Owen Valley; Mary Kate Etling of North; Kali Fuqua and Allie McCrocklin of Paris; Britney Glass of Clay City; Samantha Goodman, Ashley Graves and Alicia Tally of White River Valley; Alise Harper of Rockville; Gabrielle Kuhn of Marshall; Jazmine Martin of Shakamak; Hannah Randolph of North Central; Ali Sharton and Lauren Webster of Northview; Gabby Smith of Union; and Kylee West of North Vermillion.

The Unselfish Team is led by a pair of teammates from South — Randa Rector, always willing to let her teammates get the offensive glory (and for whom the phrase “to a fault” sometimes accompanied her adjective), and Bridgit Goss, a nice example of how being a member of a team can be rewarding regardless of the chances for personal glory.

Other selfless individuals were Cassandra Colon and Michaela Shelton of Union; Logan Cox, Tiffany Marshall and Amy Newnum of Turkey Run; Kalen Eastham, LeAnn Spesard and Megan Whitacre of Paris; Brittany Evans, Brittney Gilman, Ashley Reed and Lauren Samuelson of South Vermillion; Victoria Goetz and Kayla Irwin of North Central; Brittney Hall of West Vigo; Cassandra Holdaway of Shakamak; Sara Julian of Riverton Parke; Erica Lee of Northview; and Micah York of Owen Valley.

Lots of potential captains are on the Most Promising Team, so I’ll go with the one I saw who was farthest along in her first varsity season — Carmela Roeschlein of Clay City.

Others with bright futures are Jenny Barnhill of North; Erin Barton, Jorden Brown and Cassidy Carlson of West Vigo; Mikayla Crane of Shakamak; Elizabeth Dickey and Sheldan Falls of Riverton Parke; Abby Garner and Casey West of North Vermillion; Cheyenne Goodman of Union; Ariel Hester and Megan Stone of North Central; Holly Hopkins and Kirsten Weaver of Turkey Run; Hannah Lee of South; Abby Reed of Clay City; Chelsey Sampson of Northview; and Hilary Woodard of Rockville.

Captains of the Most Improved Team stepped into tough situations for top-10 teams and proved to be standouts, not fill-ins: Haley Seibert of South all season long, and Jordan Hunt of Turkey Run in tournament play.

Others who came on strong were Megan Barnes of LInton; Carlee Bell, Kirstin Kimball and Kelsey Searing of Northview; Devyn Bridgewater and Allie Miller of Clay City; Morgan Burgess and Hilary Vukovits of Rockville; Chelsea Dailey, Rosa Gossett and Andrea Jenkinson of Riverton Parke; Nasya Dietz and Kayla Ennen of South; Maria Drake and Amber Kemp of North Central; Jordan English and Adrienne Strohm of Marshall; Mack Evans of Owen Valley; Meghan Francis of Turkey Run; Danielle Ketner of North; Sherry Link and Desiree Thomas of South Vermillion; Breanna Marrs of West Vigo; Madison Martin of Paris; Shayna Nicol and Ashli Scott of Union; and Kristi Pearson of Shakamak.

My Left-handed Team is a little young this year. Its captain is a senior, Megan Whitacre of Paris, but Sheldan Falls of Riverton Parke, Lindy Jones of North, Shayna Nicol of Union and Mikaela Silcock of West Vigo will be complemented by some younger players I’ve seen recently: Tasia Brewer and Emma Sappington of Woodrow Wilson, Cami Lee of Honey Creek and Baylee Waters of West Vigo Middle School.

• • •

Other stuff:

• Dedication — The Wabash Valley Football Coaches Association (which is a pretty good example of dedication itself, if you want to know the truth) will dedicate its Hall of Fame at its new permanent location, the Springhill location of First Financial Bank, at 2 p.m. April 2.

• Referees working — Semistate referees last week from the Wabash Valley Officials Association were Greg Hayes and Michael Stoffers at Winchester vs. Brownstown Central; Rick Gentry at Franklin Central vs. Bloomington South; P.J. Pitts at Jac-Cen-Del vs. North Daviess; and Mark Hopper at Greensburg vs. Princeton.

Kudos to Mike Stoffers and P.J. Pitts, who will be working at the state finals on Saturday. P.J. gets two pats on the back, because he also worked the girls state finals last month.

Andy Amey can be reached after 4 p.m. for comments or news items at (812) 231-4277 or at 1-800-783-8742; by e-mail at; by mail at P.O. Box 149, Terre Haute, IN, 47808; or by fax at (812) 231-4321.